Guild Wars: Ghosts of Ascalon

Two hundred fifty years ago, Ascalon burned.

Desperate to defend his land from advancing hordes of bestial charr, King Adelbern summoned the all-powerful Foefire to repel the invaders. But magic can be a double-edged sword. The Foefire burned both charr and human alike. While the charr corpses smoldered, the slain Ascalonians rose again, transformed by their king’s rage into ghostly protectors and charged with guarding the realm — forever. The once mighty kingdom became a haunted shadow of its former glory.

Centuries later, the descendants of Ascalon, exiled to the nation of Kryta, are besieged on all sides. To save humankind, Queen Jennah seeks to negotiate a treaty with the hated charr. One obstacle remains. The charr legions won’t sign the truce until their most prized possession, the Claw of the Khan-Ur, is returned from the ruins of fallen Ascalon.

Now, a mismatched band of adventurers, each plagued by ghosts of their own, sets forth into a haunted, war-torn land to retrieve the Claw. Without the artifact, there is no hope for peace between humans and charr — but the undead king who rules Ascalon won’t give it up easily, and not everyone wants peace!

Ghosts of Ascalon — the first original Guild Wars novel! — is scheduled for release in North America and Europe in the summer of 2010. Written by acclaimed fantasy authors Matt Forbeck and Jeff Grubb, Ghosts of Ascalon sets the stage for the release of the highly anticipated Guild Wars 2 MMO.

For more details, including about the translations into French, German, Italian, and Russian, check out The Guild Wars: Ghosts of Ascalon FAQ.


Download a free PDF of the first chapter.

Download a free map of Tyria, the world of Guild Wars.

Scroll down to the bottom of this page for free images to decorate your computer desktop.

Publisher’s Info

Guild Wars: Ghosts of Ascalon

A novel by Matt Forbeck and Jeff Grubb

  • Mass Market Paperback: 352 pages
  • Publisher: Pocket Star
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1416589473
  • ISBN-13: 978-1416589471