The 2016 Scribe Nominees

New Blood FrontJust found out today that Halo: New Blood was nominated for a Scribe Award by the International Association of Media Tie-In Writers! This is the fifth time one of my books has been nominated for a Scribe Award. My novelization of the Mutant Chronicles movie actually won an award back in 2009.

Here’s hoping Halo: New Blood has a chance this year. It’s up against some stiff competition in the Original Novel — Speculative category though, including a Deadlands novel by my friend Jonathan Maberry and another Halo novel by my longtime pal Troy Denning.

See below for the full list of categories and nominees. I’m thrilled to see so many talented friends have their work recognized by the IAMTW.

Congrats to all the authors, and huge thanks to the judging committee which does a ton of wonderful work to make this all happen!

The Tenth Annual Scribe Awards

The International Association of Media Tie-In Writers is pleased to announce the Scribe Award Nominees for 2016.

Acknowledging excellence in this very competitive field, the IAMTW’s Scribe Awards honor licensed works that tie in with other media such as television, movies, gaming, or comic books. They include original works set in established universes, and adaptations of stories that have appeared in other formats and that cross all genres. Tie-in works run the gamut from westerns to mysteries to procedurals, from science fiction to fantasy to horror, from action and adventure to superheroes. HALO, Elementary, 24, Star Trek, Mike Hammer, Star Wars, Shadowrun, Doctor Who: these represent just a few.

The Scribe Award winners will be announced at ComicCon San Diego in July. The exact day, time and location of the Scribes Panel including the award ceremony will be announced shortly.

IAMTW thanks everyone who sent entries, all wonderful, for consideration. Congratulations to the following nominees:


  • Elementary:The Ghost Line by Adam Christopher
  • Kill Me, Darling by Mickey Spillane & Max Allan Collins
  • Don Pendleton’s Mack Bolan: Desert Falcons by Michael A. Black
  • 24: Rogue by David Mack


  • Deadlands: Ghostwalkers by Jonathan Maberry
  • HALO: Last Light by Troy Denning
  • HALO: New Blood by Matt Forbeck
  • Pathfinder: Forge of Ashes by Josh Vogt
  • Shadowrun: Borrowed Time by R. L. King
  • Star Trek The Next Generation: Armageddon’s Arrow by Dayton Ward
  • Star Trek Seekers 3: Long Shot by David Mack


  • Backcountry by D. E. McDonald
  • Batman: Arkham Knight by Marv Wolfman
  • Crimson Peak by Nancy Holder
  • MANOS ­­­– The Hands of Fate by Stephen D. Sullivan
  • Star Wars: Dark Disciple by Christie Golden


  • Mike Hammer The Strand “Fallout” by Mickey Spillane and Max Allan Collins
  • Shadowrun: World of Shadows “Swamp of Spirits” by Jason M. Hardy
  • The X-Files: Trust No One “Back in El Paso My Life Will Be Worthless” by Keith R. A. DeCandido
  • The X-Files: Trust No One “Dusk” by Paul Crilley
  • The X-Files: Trust No One “Non Gratum Anus Rodentum” by Brian Keene
  • The X-Files: Trust No One “Statues” by Kevin J. Anderson


  • Dark Shadows “Bloodlust” by Alan Flanagan, Will Howells and Joseph Lidster
  • Dark Shadows “In the Twinkling of an Eye” Penelope Faith
  • Doctor Who “The Red Lady” by John Dorney
  • Doctor Who “Damaged Goods” by Jonathan Morris
  • Pathfinder Legends: “Mummy’s Mask: Empty Graves” by Cavan Scott